Important

You are browsing the documentation for version 4.1 of OroCommerce, OroCRM and OroPlatform, which is no longer maintained. Security Support ends in January 2023. Read version 5.0 (the latest LTS version) of the Oro documentation to get the updated information.

See our Release Process documentation for more information on the currently supported and upcoming releases.

Available in OroCRM Available in OroCommerce

Qualify a Lead

Every lead can be qualified into an opportunity, or disqualified, if it is clear that the deal is not going to progress.

When the lead is converted to an opportunity, a contact is automatically created based on lead data, so contact details are still kept in the system for future reference or business intelligence needs. If the potential success level is high from the very start, you can create an opportunity straight away skipping the creation of a lead.

You can qualify leads either using the actions on the lead page, or using the steps and transitions of the enabled system Unqualified Sales Lead workflow. This workflow represents alternative user experience and sequence of the lead qualification process, and is by default disabled.

Note

The Unqualified Sales Lead workflow is a system workflow and cannot be edited or deleted.

Unqualified Sales Lead Workflow

To enable the workflow:

  1. Navigate to System > Workflows in the main menu.

  2. Hover over the more options menu at the end of the workflow row in the table of all workflows, and click Activate.

    Activate unqualified sales lead workflow from the table of all workflows

    Alternatively, click once on the workflow to open its page, and on the workflow page click Activate on the top right.

    Unqualified sales lead workflow screen under system > workflows in the main menu

When the workflow is enabled, the following transitions are available on the lead page:

  • Qualify
  • Disqualify
  • Reactivate (when the lead is disqualified)
The transitions of the unqualified sales lead workflow on the lead page

To deactivate the workflow:

  1. Navigate to System > Workflows in the main menu.

  2. Hover over the more options menu at the end of the workflow row in the table of all workflows, and click Deactivate.

    Deactivate unqualified sales lead workflow from the table of all workflows

    Alternatively, click once on the workflow to open its page, and on the workflow page click Deactivate on the top right.

    Deactivate unqualified sales lead workflow from its page

When the workflow is disabled, the workflow transitions are absent from the lead page. Instead, the following action buttons are available:

  • Convert to Opportunity
  • Disqualify
The action buttons on the lead page when the unqualified sales lead workflow is disabled

Converting a lead into an opportunity means that you are qualifying it as a potential deal. Once the lead is converted into an opportunity, it is marked Qualified and is no longer available in the Open Leads table.